Home Page

 renada School District logo, slogan Education, Training, Dreams, 253 South Main, P.O. Box 1940, Grenada, MS  38902-1940, 662-226-1606

Photo of Stephanie Raper

Stephanie Raper
In the Loop Editor

National Honor Society

National Honor Society

National Honor Society members
            Thirty-five new members were recently inducted to the Grenada High School chapter of the National Honor Society.   During a candlelight ceremony held in the GHS auditorium, the new members pledged to uphold the three cardinal principles of the National Honor Society:  Scholarship, Leadership, and character. 

Membership in the National Honor Society requires a 92 overall cumulative average, participation in at least 3 extracurricular activities, a good discipline record, and evidence of prior service in the community.   Candidates meeting these prerequisites must also submit a portfolio that includes a resume of their activities.  After all documentation has been submitted, a faculty council of five members determines whether or not a student meets all standards of service, scholarship, leadership, and character.  After the final list of candidates has been compiled, each student receives an invitation to membership.  Candidates must respond in writing their acceptance or refusal of membership.

The 34 current members of the GHS NHS also attended and participated in the induction ceremony.   Bryant Poe, NHS President, welcomed the new members to the ceremony.  Mr. Jerry Williams, GHS Principal, provided the Roll Call of New Members.  Following the Roll Call, NHS members Courtney Simmons, Tanner Aldridge, Jacobi Daughrity, Katey Breedlove, Chris Holly, John Coleman, and Stuart Shaw spoke about the principles of the NHS and offered the Invocation and Benediction.

Dr. David Daigneault, Superintendent, extended closing remarks.  The current members of the GHS NHS are:  Tanner Aldridge, Breanna Bess, Alexandra Brasher, Katelyn Breedlove, Daulton Byars, Mallory Carrithers, Ariel Chavis, John Coleman, Jacobi Daughrity, Devin Frost, Kayla Gafford, Chris Holly, Payne Horan, Taya Jones, Kaitlyn Junkin, Justin Kinard, McKenzie King, Ambriel Kinney, Becca Livingston, Dhruvin Patel, Peyton Phelon, Bryant Poe, Cesley Ross, Stuart Shaw, Courtney Simmons, Jacob Simmons, Brittany Smart, Brianna Stevens, Deidre Trotter, Janie Turner, Clayton Walls, Kjirsten Whitsell, Blake Williams, and Amber Wilson. 

New members inducted into the society include:  Seniors – Ronald Chamberlain, Allyson Cummins, Michael Hankins, Dru McCord, Haley Brooke Rodriguez, Mary Courtney Self, Will Sturgeon; Juniors – Erin Beck, Sharnell Bowdry, Abigail Branson, Cassidy Brown, Raven Clark, John Austin Cook, Shelby Craddock, Ashlyn Doss, Nyterica Edget, Chance Ford, Sara Kate Griffin, Kayla Hamann, Kasia Hayes, Etta Jennings, Tykia Joseph, Rachel Kane, Sarah Mawk, Paige Porter, Hope Rainey, Sydney Reid, Keara Rogers, Lauren Simpson, Mitchell Sones, paras Sukho, Sydney Taylor, Cody Upchurch,  and Abby Vance.

Congratulations to all the new members of the Grenada High School National Honor Society.