Home Page

 renada School District logo, slogan Education, Training, Dreams, 253 South Main, P.O. Box 1940, Grenada, MS  38902-1940, 662-226-1606

 photo of Stephanie Raper

Stephanie Raper
In the Loop Editor


2018 NNDCC Awards

NNDCC The Grenada High School chapter of the Navy Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps / Navy National Defense Cadet Corp recently held its awards ceremony for the 2017 – 2018 school year. Chief Newtroin Foreman presided over the event held at the GHS gym. Chief Foreman, along with representatives from various national organizations that support our military members, presented awards.

This year the cadets won 25 trophies in various events in State and Area Eight competitions. They came in 17th out of 50 schools in Area Eight for NJROTC, up from 49 out of 49 five years ago. For the fourth time they went to JROTC State Meet for Physical Training. They came in 2nd out of 90 schools in the state. The awards ceremony provided an opportunity to honor the Cadet Corps for their hard work and dedication throughout the year.

The following awards were presented:

• Sons of Confederate Veterans "Hunley" Award: Ethan Tuberville
• American Veterans Award(AMVETS): Dallin Foreman
• Daughters of 1812 Award: Araya Williams
• Sons of the American Revolution(SAR): Liam Thayer
• Daedalian Award: Liam Thayer
• National Sojourners Award: Stephen George
• American Legion Scholastic Excellence Award: Ja'Quarrious Berry
• Scottish Rite of Freemasonry JROTC: Chance Wortham
• Daughters of American Revolution: Lakesha Harbin
• Surface Navy Association Stephen Decatur Award Freshman/Sophomore: Kimhong Kanghang
• Surface Navy Association Stephen Decatur Award Junior: Johnathan Forrest
• Sons of Union Veterans of Civil War: Nory Lorenzo
• American Legion Military Excellence Award: Hunter Provine
• Military Officers Association Award: Carnell Farmer
• US Navy League: Eleasa Ramsey
• Sons of Confederate Veterans JROTC Award: James Tuberville
• Noncommissioned Officers Association (NCOA): Desiree Lott

Another momentous event took place at the ceremony as the current NJROTC staff members turned over their job responsibilities to the new staff members for the 2017 – 2018 school year.

The following changes in command were made:

• Cadet Company Commander Lakesha Harbin turned over to Johnathan Forrest
• Executive Officer Chance Wortham turned over to Marissa Wallace
• Operations Officer Dallin Foreman turned over to Desiree Lott
• Administrative Officer Aleks Provine turned over to Aalyria Wright
• Command Master Chief Eleasa Ramsey to Carnell Farmer
• Community Service Officer ArayaWilliams to Kenretta Bounds
• Public Affairs Officer Ny'Lasia Randle turned over to Nory Lorenzo
• Supply Jonathan Forrest turned over to Devonn Wilson
• Weapons Office Jacob Birdsong to Jonathan Rice; James Tuberville
• Personal Officer Marissa Wallace turned over to Ty'kerria Parker
• Unarmed Drill Team Commander (National) Johnathan Forrest
• EX Commander To be determined
• Armed Drill Team Commander (National) Marissa Wallace
• EX Commander Mallorie Bowden; Trista Harmon
• Colorguard Team Commander (National) Nory Lorenzo
• Orienteering Team Commander To be determined
• Rifle Team Commander Nory Lorenzo
• Athletes Commander Stephen George turned over to Ashulon Hardaway
• Honor Guard- Nory Lorenzo; Johnathan Forrest
• FIRST PLATOON – Stephen George to Adarius Harris; Guide-On Dakota Luke
• SECOND PLATOON-Desiree Lott to Ra'Kaiya Hubbard; Guide-On Trista Harmon
• THIRD PLATOON- Liam Thayer to Ny'Lasia Randle; Guide-On Ruby Stanton

Congratulations to all the Cadets who received recognition for their efforts during 2017-2018 school year!