Home Page

 renada School District logo, slogan Education, Training, Dreams, 253 South Main, P.O. Box 1940, Grenada, MS  38902-1940, 662-226-1606

 photo of Stephanie Raper

Stephanie Raper
In the Loop Editor


NNDCC State-wide Competitions

The Grenada High School NNDCC (Navy National Defense Corps) showed its strength recently as cadets brought home several awards from state-wide competitions. The cadets train hard each day both during and after school in order to perform at their best during physical training meets. Under the leadership of Chief Reese Foreman and Coach Willy White, the GHS chapter has done extremely well this year in competition.

On May 06, 2017, the GHS cadets traveled to Germantown High School to compete at their third state-wide competition. Ten cadets competed in the athletic competition. Events were Stretcher Carry (100 pounds), Ammo-Can Relay (ammo can filled with 25 pounds of sand), Curl-Up (sit-ups), 10 X 100, One-Mile Run, and Pull-Ups for males and Flex-Arm Hang for females. The competition was fierce, but GHS cadets managed a second-overall win while capturing first place in the 10 X 100, Stretcher Carry, Tug-of-War, and Ammo-Can events. The cadets also placed second in Pull-ups/Flex Hang, and third in Curl-Ups. Lake Cormorant seized first-overall with Florence bagging third place.

The cadets are proud of their accomplishments for the year and have already begun training for next year's state competition. Congratulations to all of these cadets for the hard work and dedication they have shown this year. Your hard work has paid off and you brought home the proof of your efforts! Keep up the good work!

The Grenada High School chapter of Navy National Defense Cadet Corps recently held its awards ceremony for the 2016-2017 school years. Chief Newtroin Foreman presided over the event held at the GHS gym. Chief Foreman, along with representatives from various national organizations that support our military members, presented awards. In various competitions this year, the cadets garnered 27 trophies and 50 medals. They finished the year ranking 21st out of 49 schools in Area Eight for NJROTC, up from last place 3 years ago. The awards ceremony provided an opportunity to honor the Cadet Corps for their hard work and dedication throughout the year. The GHS NNDCC captured the Most Improved Unit award in Area 8 as well as the Unit Achievement Award - two awards that have never been won by the unit. The unit also won Volunteer Team of the Year for the third time from the Veterans of Mississippi. The following awards were presented:

1. Sons of Confederate Veterans " Hunley " Award- Johnathan Forrest
2. American Veterans Award(AMVETS) – Dallin Foreman
3. Daughters of 1812 Award – Olivia Coleman
4. Sons of the American Revolution(SAR) – Stephen George
5. Non-Commissioned Officers Association Award(NCOA) – Catarrus Black
6. Daedalian Award – Liam Thayer
7. National Sojourners Award – Liam Thayer
8. Vietnam Veterans of America Award(VVA) - Stephen George
9. American Legion Scholastic Excellence Award - Robert Evans
10. Scottish Rite of Freemasonry JROTC Award - Robert Evans
11. Daughters of American Revolution - Jamiliha Govan
12. Military Order of the Purple Heart Award (MOPH) - Chance Wortham
13. American Military Retirees Association(LEAP) - Eleasa Ramsey
14. Scottish American Military Society(SAMS) – Marissa Wallace
15. 101st Airborne Division Association - Marissa Wallace
16. Surface Navy Association Stephen Decatur Award Freshman/Sophomore – Ashulon Hardaway
17. Surface Navy Association Stephen Decatur Award Junior - Lakesha Harbin
18. Sons of Union Veterans of Civil War - Johnathan Rice
19. American Legion Military Excellence Award - Liam Thayer
20. Military Officers Association Award - Hunter Provine
21. Military Order of the World Wars - Kamiya Clark
22. Veterans of Foreign Wars(VFW) - Nory Lorenzo
23. Reserve Officer's Association(ROA) - Lakesha Harbin
24. Military Order of Foreign Wars(MOFW) Silver Academics - Eleasa Ramsey
25. Military Order of Foreign Wars(MOFW) Bronze Leadership - Dallin Foreman
26. Military Officers Benevolent Corporation(MOBC) Freshman - Ethan Tuberville
27. Military Officers Benevolent Corporation(MOBC) Sophomore - Johnathan Forrest
28. Military Officers Benevolent Corporation(MOBC) Junior - Ethan Ratliff
29. Military Officers Benevolent Corporation(MOBC) Senior - Catarrus Black
30. United States Army Warrant Officer Association(USAWOA) Freshman – Mallorie Bowden
31. United States Army Warrant Officer Association(USAWOA) Sophomore – Kenretta Bounds
32. United States Army Warrant Officer Association(USAWOA) Junior – Hunter Provine
33. United States Army Warrant Officer Association(USAWOA) Senior - Kaylei Daniels
34. Daughters of the American Colonists Award - Araya Williams
35. Special Forces Association Award - Chance Wortham
36. Cadet of the Year - Ashulon Hardaway

Another momentous event took place during the ceremony as the current NNDCC staff members turned over their job responsibilities to the new staff members for the 2017-2018 school year. The following changes in command were made:

Cadet Company Commander: CaTarrus Black turned over to Lakesha Harbin
Executive Officer: Olivia Coleman turned over to Chance Wortham
Operations Officer: Robert Evans turned over to Dallin Foreman
Command Master Chief: Myka Smith turned over to Elsasa Ramsey
Administrative Officer: Hunter Provine
Community Service Officer: Dallin Foreman turned over to Araya Williams
Public Affairs Officer: Janisha Holloway turned over to Kamiya Clark
Supply Officer: Jamiliha Govan turned over to Johnathon Forrest
Weapons Officer: Jacob Birdsong
Personnel Officer: Kylee Dulin turned over to Marissa Wallace
First Platoon Commander: Chance Wortham to Stephen George
Second Platoon Commander: Kamiya Clark to Desiree Lott
Third Platoon Commander: Elsasa Ramsey to Liam Thayer
Company Guide-On: A.J. Hardaway
Honor Guard: Lakesha Harbin
Color Guard: Nory Lorenzo
Athletics Commander: Stephen George
Air Rifle Commander: Nory Lorenzo
Armed Basic Commander: Marissa Wallace and Kennreta Bounds
Unarmed Basic Commander: Elsasa Ramsey and Johnathon Forrest
Armed EX Commander: Dallin Foreman and Chance Wortham
Unarmed EX Commander: TBD
Academic Commander: Liam Thayer
Orienteering Commander: TBD
Drone and Seapearch Commander: TBD
Sword Team: Chance Wortham

Congratulations to these cadets on their new appointments!